In most Indian homes, an inverter is not a luxury. Power cuts hit tier-2 towns in summer and coastal cities in the monsoon. A good inverter keeps fans, lights and the Wi-Fi router running. A pure sine model also runs a fridge, laptop and TV safely. The hard part is picking the right size for your actual load.
We compared 21 inverters on Amazon India and kept the best 10. All run on one 12V battery and are sold as pure sine. We scored each on size, power quality, battery support, build and service, and features. We also read more than 900 verified Indian reviews. We kept real faults apart from units that just came damaged.
Our Top Picks
Okaya ATSW 1700 (1450VA Pure Sine Wave)
The most backup you can run off one battery, with the cleanest review record here.
- 1450VA/1160W on one 12V battery — the most output here without a second battery
- Best buyer record of 21 inverters: an 8% product-fault rate across 25 verified India reviews
- Recent reviews average 4.32, above its 4.2 headline rating — rare in this field
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table; buyers say the changeover is not noticeable
- 36-month warranty, and all three listing sources agree on the term
- Auto-resets after a mains short-circuit, fuse trip or overload
Quick Comparison
| Product | Rating | Price | VA / Watts | Lithium Support | Battery Range | Warranty | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8.6 | ₹8,390 | 1450 VA / 1160 W | Not stated | Not published | 36 months | View on Amazon | |
| Microtek XXtra Power vTURBO NEW 1250 (1250VA Pure Sine Wave) Best Battery Support | 8.5 | ₹7,849 | 1250 VA / 1000 W | Yes (all battery types) | Not published | 36 months (on-site) | View on Amazon |
| 8.1 | ₹6,890 | 1150 VA / 920 W | Not stated | Not published | 36 months | View on Amazon | |
| Microtek Luxe 1400 (1100VA Pure Sine Wave) Best Display | 8.0 | ₹7,949 | 1100 VA / 825 W | Not stated | 80-250 Ah | 24 months | View on Amazon |
| Exide Star STAR12V1625 (1625VA Pure Sine Wave) Highest Capacity on One Battery | 7.9 | ₹9,229 | 1625 VA / 1300 W | Not stated | Not published | 42 months (with registration) | View on Amazon |
| 7.8 | ₹6,599 | 1000 VA / 800 W | Yes (Li-Ion and Gel) | 80-230 Ah | 36 months | View on Amazon | |
| 7.8 | ₹5,800 | 900 VA / 720 W | Not stated | 135-150 Ah recommended | 42 months (with registration) | View on Amazon | |
| 7.6 | ₹4,149 | 700 VA / 525 W | Not stated | 90-200 Ah | 30 months | View on Amazon | |
| 7.6 | ₹8,786 | 1100 VA / 825 W | Not stated | Not published | 36 months (on-site) | View on Amazon | |
| Luminous iCon 1100 (900VA Pure Sine Wave) Best Concealed-Battery Design | 7.5 | ₹10,599 | 900 VA / 756 W | Not stated | Not published | 24 months | View on Amazon |
How We Rated These Products
Based on spec sheets, verified buyer reviews, warranty terms and value for Indian homes
The true VA rating and watt output, not the model name. A single 12V battery unit scores above a 24V twin-battery one.
Pure sine wave, confirmed in the spec table rather than the title. Buyer reports of hum, loud beeps or slow changeover count against it.
Supported battery types and Ah range, lithium support and charging options. Lithium use confirmed by buyers counts most.
The product-fault rate in recent verified reviews, kept apart from delivery damage. Also warranty term and service network reach.
Display, published protections, bypass switch, UPS/ECO modes and battery care reminders.
Detailed Reviews
Okaya ATSW 1700 (1450VA Pure Sine Wave)
Top PickThe most capacity you can get on a single battery, with the cleanest review record here.
Best for: 2-3BHK homes running fans, lights, a TV and a fridge on one battery
Our Rating
8.6₹8,390
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1450 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 1160 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Display | LED status panel (7 indicators) |
| Protections | Smart overload, smart low-battery, high-battery, input/output short-circuit, over-temperature, auto-reset |
| Technology | Advanced True Sine Wave, SMT/SMD build, SUPER Intelli Charge |
| Warranty | 36 months |
| Weight | 10.95 kg |
Pros
- Most output here that still runs on one 12V battery: 1450VA/1160W
- Best review record in the field: 8% product-fault rate across 25 verified India reviews, averaging 4.32
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table; buyers say the changeover is not noticeable
- 36-month warranty, and all three sources on the listing agree on the term
- Auto-resets after a mains short-circuit, fuse trip or overload
- Full protection set, including over-temperature and input/output short-circuit
Cons
- No charging current, battery Ah range or lithium support published anywhere on the listing
- Okaya's service network is smaller than Luminous, Microtek or Exide — a real concern outside metros
- One buyer says Okaya service refused warranty cover because they used a lithium battery
- The spec table's 'Battery Capacity: 1160 Amp Hours' row is the wattage in the wrong field
- At ₹8,390, it is the third most expensive pick here
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
This is the best all-round inverter we found. It gives 1450VA from one 12V battery, so you skip a second battery. The spec table confirms its pure sine output. It also has the best buyer record of the 21 inverters we checked. The gap is on paper: Okaya says nothing on charging current or battery range.
Microtek XXtra Power vTURBO NEW 1250 (1250VA Pure Sine Wave)
Best Battery SupportThe only inverter here that lets you choose the charging current, with lithium support confirmed.
Best for: Buyers planning a lithium battery who want control over charging
Our Rating
8.5₹7,849
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1250 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 1000 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Yes — lithium, SMF, flat-plate and tubular |
| Charging Current | 10/12/15/20 A selectable |
| Display | LED panel with appliance icons and rotary selector |
| Protections | Overload, short-circuit, battery overcharge, deep-discharge |
| Warranty | 36 months (on-site) |
| Weight | 10.3 kg |
Pros
- Only inverter here with selectable charging current: 10, 12, 15 or 20 A
- Lithium, SMF, flat-plate and tubular supported, confirmed by Microtek's spec graphic and a verified buyer
- 1250VA/1000W from a single 12V battery — no second battery needed
- 36-month on-site warranty, backed by Microtek's 500+ service centres
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table and by a buyer
Cons
- Only 5 verified India reviews, so reliability is unproven, not proven good
- The listing's model number reads '899-XS1-1600'; two buyers posted corrections that it is 1250VA
- Microtek reuses the XXtra Power name across capacities, so check the VA on the box
- No battery Ah range published
- No bypass switch, and a shorter protection list than the Exide and Okaya picks
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
On paper, this is the best-equipped inverter here. You can choose the charging current, and it supports lithium batteries. Nothing else in this list offers both. It runs 1250VA from one battery and comes with on-site warranty. The catch is evidence: five verified reviews is not a reliability record.
Okaya ATSW 1400 (1150VA Pure Sine Wave)
The ATSW 1700's platform at a lower capacity and a lower price.
Best for: 2-3BHK homes that want the Okaya platform for less
Our Rating
8.1₹6,890
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1150 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 920 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Display | LED status panel (7 indicators) |
| Protections | Smart overload, smart low-battery, high-battery, input/output short-circuit, over-temperature, auto-reset |
| Technology | Advanced True Sine Wave, SMT/SMD build, SUPER Intelli Charge |
| Warranty | 36 months |
| Weight | 9.73 kg |
Pros
- Same pure sine platform and protection set as the ATSW 1700, for ₹1,500 less
- 1150VA/920W on a single 12V battery suits most 2-3BHK homes
- 36-month warranty, consistent across the spec table, bullets and Okaya's spec image
- Auto-resets after a mains short-circuit, fuse trip or overload
- Highest headline rating in this list at 4.4 stars
Cons
- Only 8 verified India reviews, and 3 are 1-star — too thin to rely on
- Two of those three report a damaged or faulty unit on arrival
- A buyer reports Okaya service refusing warranty cover over lithium battery use
- No charging current, Ah range or lithium support published
- The spec table's 'Battery Capacity: 1150 Amp Hours' row is the VA rating in the wrong field
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
This is the cheapest way into Okaya's ATSW platform. You get the same pure sine output, protection set and 36-month warranty as the 1700. Capacity drops to 1150VA, which still covers most 2-3BHK homes. Buy it knowing the review base is only eight people. Three of them had a bad experience.
Microtek Luxe 1400 (1100VA Pure Sine Wave)
Best DisplayThe only inverter here that tells you how much backup time you have left.
Best for: Homes that want to see load and backup time at a glance
Our Rating
8.0₹7,949
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1100 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 825 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Battery Ah Range | 80-250 Ah |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Display | Digital LCD: running load, backup time and charging time |
| Protections | Overload, over-temperature, short-circuit, circuit trip |
| Warranty | 24 months (listing contradicts itself) |
| Weight | 9.63 kg |
Pros
- Best display here: an LCD showing running load, backup time and charging time
- Widest published battery range among the picks at 80-250 Ah
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table
- Microtek's 500+ centre service network is one of India's densest
- One buyer reports two years of trouble-free use; another runs it at about 700W
Cons
- Several buyers report humming, plus a hissing noise during charging and changeover
- Warranty taken as 24 months: the bullets say 2 years, the spec table and Microtek's image say 36
- Damaged on arrival is the main complaint, in 7 of 10 negative reviews
- Two buyers report the display going blank after a few days
- The bullets list a 560W peak load on an 825W inverter, which cannot be right
- Oldest listing here, roughly a 2022 model
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
Buy this for the screen. Its LCD shows real load and backup time left, so you don't have to guess from indicator lights. Underneath is a confirmed pure sine 1100VA unit with a wide battery range. Expect some humming. Treat the warranty as 24 months, since the listing disagrees with itself.
Exide Star STAR12V1625 (1625VA Pure Sine Wave)
Highest Capacity on One BatteryThe only way to get 1625VA without buying a second battery.
Best for: Larger homes that need the most capacity on a single battery
Our Rating
7.9₹9,229
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1625 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 1300 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Display | LED panel: battery level, charging status and overload |
| Protections | Thermal circuit breaker, wide 90-300V input |
| Technology | PLEX Pro Load Expert, microcontroller-based pure sine wave |
| Warranty | 42 months (36 + 6 on registration) |
| Weight | 16.2 kg |
Pros
- 1625VA on one 12V battery — no rival here reaches this without a second battery
- 42-month warranty (36 standard plus 6 on registration), the longest in this list
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table and Exide's own product content
- Just a 10% product-fault rate — most negative reviews are about delivery, not the inverter
- A buyer confirms it running an 850W PC at full load
- Wide 90-300V input range suits unstable supply
Cons
- Amazon flags it as a frequently returned item
- 43% of the last 49 verified India reviews are 1-2 stars, the worst recent sample here
- Three buyers report receiving used or old units; one got two defective units in a row
- Two buyers report slow charging
- Two buyers put the practical load ceiling near 850W, well below what 1625VA implies
- Heaviest unit here at 16.2 kg, with no Ah range or charging current published
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
Buy this for one reason. It is the only inverter here that gives 1625VA from a single 12V battery. That saves the ₹12,000 or more a second battery would cost. The catch is the worst recent review sample in this list. But 11 of its 21 bad reviews are about damaged or used units on arrival, so check the box when it comes.
V-Guard Prime 1150 Mili (1000VA Pure Sine Wave)
The one to buy if you want to run a lithium battery and know it works.
Best for: Homes moving to a lithium or gel battery
Our Rating
7.8₹6,599
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1000 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 800 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Battery Ah Range | 80-230 Ah |
| Lithium Compatible | Yes — Multi-Ion: Li-Ion and Gel, plus SMF, flat-plate and tubular |
| Charging Modes | Selectable via performance switch (flat/tubular/local) |
| Display | LED panel, 7 indicators including Check Water |
| Protections | Overcharge, deep-discharge, high inrush load handling, water-topping reminder, Battery Gravity Builder, mute buzzer option |
| Warranty | 36 months |
| Weight | 9.4 kg |
Pros
- Only inverter here with lithium support confirmed by buyers — two report LFP packs working
- Widest battery support here: Li-Ion, Gel, SMF, flat-plate and tubular, 80-230 Ah
- Largest evidence base of any pick: 100 verified India reviews, 55 from the last year
- Water-topping reminder and Battery Gravity Builder help battery life
- Several buyers report 2.5 to 5 years of trouble-free use
- Cheapest 1000VA pure sine pick here at ₹6,599, with a 36-month warranty
Cons
- A loud, continuous beep on battery is the top complaint; one buyer says the app mute did not work
- PCB failure named in five separate verified reviews, several within the first year
- Changeover is slower than the 10ms the manual claims; one buyer found it unusable as a desktop UPS
- Thin PVC front panel, plus repeated reports of heat and humming
- Supplied battery cables are 0.75mm and too short, per two buyers
- The 4.2-star headline from 1,975 ratings is pooled across the whole Prime 1150 family
- Repeated reports of technicians not turning up and warranty claims refused
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
Pick this if a lithium or gel battery is in your plan. It is the only unit here whose lithium support buyers have confirmed. It is also the cheapest 1000VA pure sine pick. Go in knowing the beep is genuinely loud and PCB failures recur in reviews. The headline rating is also shared across the wider Prime 1150 family.
Exide Star STAR12V900 (900VA Pure Sine Wave)
The longest warranty here, on the cheapest pure sine inverter from a top-tier brand.
Best for: 1-2BHK homes running fans, lights, a router and a TV
Our Rating
7.8₹5,800
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 900 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 720 W (derived from VA) |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Battery Ah Range | 135-150 Ah recommended |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Charging | PLEX smart charging with intelligent battery management |
| Display | LED: battery and charging status |
| Protections | Overload, thermal reset switch, manual bypass, wide 90-300V input |
| Warranty | 42 months (36 + 6 on registration) |
| Weight | 9.5 kg |
Pros
- 42-month warranty (36 standard plus 6 on registration), joint longest here
- Manual bypass switch keeps you on mains if the inverter itself fails
- Pure sine confirmed in the spec table; a buyer says the output matches mains
- Second-best review record here: 21% negative, 16% fault rate, no delivery-damage complaints
- All 19 verified reviews are from the last 12 months, and buyers praise its silent running
- Cheapest pure sine pick from a major brand at ₹5,800
Cons
- 900VA/720W suits a 1-2BHK: about three fans, four lights, a router and a TV
- No continuous watt figure published; the 720W here is worked out from the VA rating
- Only a recommended 135-150Ah battery, not a range, and nothing on lithium
- One detailed complaint reports the indicator and charging system failing on first use
- Modest 19-review evidence base
- One buyer received a different model from the one ordered
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
This is the sensible choice for a 1-2BHK. It is a confirmed pure sine 900VA unit with a 42-month warranty and a manual bypass switch. Its review record is the second cleanest in the field. Capacity is modest, so add up your load first. If it is close, the 1150VA Okaya is the safer buy.
Livguard Sineverter Pro SWP800i (700VA Pure Sine Wave)
Best BudgetThe cleanest fault record in the field, in the smallest and cheapest package.
Best for: 1BHK flats and single rooms with a light load
Our Rating
7.6₹4,149
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 700 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 525 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Battery Ah Range | 90-200 Ah |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Charging | Smart AI charging (adapts current to battery health) |
| Display | LED panel, 7 indicators |
| Protections | Overload, short-circuit, battery overcharge, deep-discharge, 4-mode battery selector, UPS and ECO modes |
| Warranty | 30 months |
| Weight | 8.3 kg |
Pros
- Lowest product-fault rate in the field at 6% — one functional failure in 16 verified reviews
- Cheapest pick here at ₹4,149
- Smart AI charging adapts current to battery health, plus a 4-mode battery selector
- Supports 90-200 Ah batteries, with UPS and ECO modes
- Pure sine wave confirmed in the spec table
- Lightest here at 8.3 kg; buyers call it compact and silent
Cons
- Smallest here at 700VA/525W; two buyers put the real ceiling near 400W
- 30-month warranty is shorter than the Okaya, Microtek and Exide picks
- Livguard's service network is thinner than Exide's or Microtek's
- Bullets claim 90-230 Ah, but Livguard's own spec panel says 90-200 Ah
- Damaged packaging reported repeatedly, even by an otherwise happy buyer
- One buyer reports failure within two months, and no lithium support is stated
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
This is the one for a single room or a 1BHK. Think fans, lights, a TV, a router and a laptop. It is the cheapest inverter here and the best behaved, with the lowest fault rate of all 21 we evaluated. Do not stretch it. Buyers say about 400W is the comfortable limit.
Microtek Elite 1500 LED (1100VA Pure Sine Wave)
On-site warranty and a bypass switch, on a listing that cannot confirm its own waveform.
Best for: Buyers who want a bypass switch and on-site service
Our Rating
7.6₹8,786
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 1100 VA (marketing bullets only) |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 825 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave (bullets only; no spec-table row) |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Charging | High/Standard selectable |
| Display | LED (one product image says LCD) |
| Protections | In-built bypass switch, wide 100-300V input, generator compatible |
| Design | In-built battery enclosure, caster wheels |
| Warranty | 36 months (on-site) |
| Weight | 13 kg |
Pros
- In-built bypass switch, plus a built-in enclosure that hides the battery
- 36-month on-site warranty: a technician comes to you, backed by 500+ Microtek centres
- Two-level High/Standard charging
- Generator compatible, with a wide 100-300V input range
- 825W continuous output confirmed three times in the spec table
- Caster wheels make it easy to move
Cons
- Only 2 verified India reviews, both one-word 5-stars — reliability is unproven
- Pure sine and 1100VA appear only in marketing bullets; the spec table has no waveform row
- No battery Ah range, charging current or lithium support published
- The first gallery image says 'Elite 1600 LED' on a listing titled Elite 1500
- The title says LED display, but a product image says LCD
- At ₹8,786, it costs more than the Okaya ATSW 1700, which has 1450VA and a far better record
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
The feature list here is good. You get a bypass switch, a hidden battery box, on-site warranty and generator support. No other pick has all four. But two one-word reviews is not a track record. Its key specs also show up only in ad copy, so you are buying on Microtek's name, not on proof.
Luminous iCon 1100 (900VA Pure Sine Wave)
Best Concealed-Battery DesignBuy it for the furniture, not the specs.
Best for: Living rooms where a visible battery is not an option
Our Rating
7.5₹10,599
Check Price
Specifications
| VA Rating | 900 VA |
|---|---|
| Output Power | 756 W |
| Output Waveform | Pure Sine Wave |
| Battery Voltage | 12V (1 battery) |
| Lithium Compatible | Not stated |
| Charging | Fast charging claimed, no figure published |
| Display | LED indicators plus a decorative LED strip |
| Protections | None published |
| Design | Integrated battery cabinet, detachable top panel, built-in wheels |
| Warranty | 24 months (listing contradicts itself) |
| Weight | 13 kg |
Pros
- Integrated cabinet fully hides the battery, with built-in wheels
- Second-best recent star mix among the picks: mean 4.08, 17% negative
- Pure sine confirmed, with no changeover or humming complaints — unusual for Luminous
- Detachable top panel makes battery water top-up easier
- Luminous has one of the largest service networks in India
Cons
- Worst value here: ₹10,599 for 900VA, when the Okaya ATSW 1700 gives 1450VA for ₹8,390
- No protection list published anywhere on the listing
- Warranty taken as 24 months: the spec table says 2 years, the bullets claim 36
- Only 4 of 36 verified reviews are from the last 12 months, so the record is mostly older stock
- Two buyers report failure at six months; one reports five failures in a year
- Build quality criticised repeatedly, especially the plastic
- Oldest product here, roughly a 2021 model, with no battery range or charging figures published
Rating Breakdown
Our Verdict
This is the one you buy for looks. The battery hides inside the cabinet and the whole unit rolls on wheels. On every measurable point, though, it is the weakest pick. It gives the least capacity per rupee, publishes no protections, and its good review record is mostly years old. Buy it only if a hidden battery truly matters in your living room.
Buying Guide
The number on the box is not the VA rating
This is the costliest mistake in the category. An Okaya ATSW 1700 is a 1450VA inverter. A Luminous Zelio+ 1100 is 900VA, and a Microtek Luxe 1400 is 1100VA. The model name is a sales figure, often 15-25% above the real VA. Exide now runs ads on its own pages that mock this. Always find the VA rating in the spec table or the brand's spec image. Compare those numbers, not the names.
Pure sine wave is not a nice-to-have
Square wave inverters give a blocky version of mains power. Fans buzz and slow down on it, and BLDC motors and inverter AC compressors run hot. Pure sine wave matches the grid and is safe for TVs, routers and CPAP machines. The price gap is now small. Do not trust the title, though. The Luminous Eco Watt, Exide Magic and Livfast Bolt+ are all square wave. Check the 'Output Waveform' row in the spec table.
One 12V battery or two? This sets your real budget
The voltage tells you how many batteries you need. A 12V unit runs on one. A 24V unit needs two, wired as a pair. A good 150Ah tubular battery costs ₹12,000-18,000. So a 24V inverter roughly doubles the real cost, and the floor space. That is why every pick here is 12V. The biggest one-battery unit we found was 1625VA. Add the battery to the price before you compare.
Add up your load in watts
List what you want to run during a cut. A ceiling fan uses 70-80W and a tube light 20W. An LED bulb uses 9-12W and a Wi-Fi router 10W. An LED TV draws 60-120W and a laptop 60W. A desert cooler needs 150-200W. An inverter fridge uses 150-250W while running, with a much higher surge at start-up.
Expect less than the rating
Compare your total with the inverter's watt rating, not its VA rating. Watts are roughly VA × 0.8. Then leave headroom, because owners report less than the spec. A 525W unit was comfortable at about 400W. Owners of a 1625VA unit hit a ceiling near 850W. A fridge or a water pump in the mix is a reason to go a size up.
Check the battery range and lithium support
The inverter has to suit the battery you buy now and in five years. Look at the supported Ah range first. A unit rated 80-250Ah lets you fit a bigger battery later. One rated only for 135-150Ah does not. Most units handle flat-plate, tubular and SMF batteries. Lithium (LFP) support is still rare, and it matters more as lithium prices fall.
Treat lithium claims with care
Do not trust a bare 'lithium compatible' line. One owner says a brand's service team refused a claim because they used lithium. Another brand's lithium support was confirmed by two buyers running LFP packs. Also look for selectable charging current. Only one inverter here offers it. Choosing 10, 12, 15 or 20 A lets you charge a big battery fast without cooking a small one.
Inspect the box at delivery
We analysed more than 900 verified Indian reviews across 21 inverters. The top complaint was not a product fault. It was a unit that came damaged, dented or clearly used, with the seal broken. These are heavy 8-16 kg units with a big transformer, and they travel badly in thin boxes. On some listings, a third of all bad reviews were about this alone. Open and check the inverter in front of the delivery agent.
Warranty: believe the smallest number
Nine of the 21 listings we checked contradict themselves on warranty. Usually a bullet says 36 months while the spec table says 2 years. Buyers report being told 24 months at claim time. So check the spec table, the bullets and the brand's warranty image. Then plan around the lowest figure. Also check on-site versus carry-in cover. On-site means a technician comes to you, which matters for a 10 kg box.
Frequently Asked Questions
What size inverter do I need for a 2-3 BHK home?
Is pure sine wave really worth paying more for?
Why is the VA number on the inverter different from the model name?
Can I use a lithium battery with these inverters?
Does the inverter come with a battery?
Why do so many of these inverters have complaints about arriving damaged?
How long should a home inverter last, and what usually fails?
What is a bypass switch and do I need one?
Should I trust a 4-star rating on Amazon for an inverter?
First published